Eight men are getting the call to the Pro Football Hall of Fame this year, and once again, it is a very excellent class indeed.

The class is headlined by long-time Packers quarterback Brett Favre and Colts legendary wide receiver Marvin Harrison.

Favre made the Pro Bowl a total of 11 times during his twenty career, winning the NFL MVP award a total of three times. Favre lead the NFL in touchdown passes thrown for a long time with 509 until Peyton Manning passed him up. Favre led the NFL in touchdowns 4 separate times in terms of seasons.

“I think it’s going to take a while for it to sink in,” Favre said on being inducted into the Hall.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame induction for Favre helps cap off what was an amazing football season for #4. Favre was inducted into the Packers Hall of Fame, and had his #4 retired by the Packers on Thanksgiving Night against the Chicago Bears.

It took less than 10 seconds whether or not Favre should be a hall of famer or not. He was indeed first ballot, but Marvin Harrison. Harrison, however, had a spectacular career nonetheless, spending all 13 years of his career with the Colts, making the Pro Bowl eight times and being Peyton Manning’s favorite target alongside Reggie Wayne, which is always special.

The rest of the 1st-ballot members were Former 49ers legendary owner Eddie DeBartolo Jr., Raiders quarterback Ken Stabler and outside linebacker Kevin GreeneTony Dungy, Orlando Pace, and Dick Stanfel round off the remainder of the inductees.

Terrell Owens wasn’t inducted into the Hall of Fame, and he of course wasn’t happy about it either. Kurt Warner was another notable not to be inducted in:

“I am not disappointed, to be honest. If anything I feel more disrespected,” Owens said.

If we look ahead to the 2017 potential class, the names that jump out at you are LaDainian Tomlinson, Jason Taylor, Donovan McNabb, Hines Ward, and Brian Dawkins will be eligible for the 1st time. Terrell Davis, Morten Andersen, Steve Atwater, Alan Faneca and Edgerrin James will also be on the 2017 ballot.

[twitter-follow screen_name='tony_montalto' show_count='yes']

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: