Draymond Green Not Suspended for Flagrant Foul in Game 3 vs. Thunder

The NBA decided earlier today not to suspended Warriors forward Draymond Green for his kick to the groin area of Oklahoma City Thunder center Steven Adams.

The ruling on the floor after that very play was a flagrant one foul on Green that the NBA has now upgraded to a flagrant two foul with a $25,000 fine attached to the foul. Green is now one flagrant foul away from automatic suspension.

Warriors head coach Steve Kerr and Green had been wanting the NBA to take away the foul as Kerr and Green both agreed that the foul was unintentional. Green says NBA official Scott Foster thought the play was unintentional as well:

“I said, ‘Scott, how am I getting a flagrant because my leg went in the air trying to follow through on a shot?’ He said, ‘Draymond, I’m not saying it’s intentional. Honestly, I don’t think it was intentional at all. But you caught him in the groin area, so I have to give you a flagrant,’” Green said. “I didn’t argue it. It said, ‘OK, that’s understandable.’”

Green declined to comment on his penalty according to ESPN. The 26-year-old Green is averaging 13 points, 5.7 rebounds, and 4.7 assists per game so far this series.

[twitter-follow screen_name='tony_montalto' show_count='yes']

%d bloggers like this: