MLB Players Expected to Begin 2019 Season on Injured List

As is the case with the start of every MLB season, several players will open the season on the injured list.

We here at The Game Day Report have complied a list of every player that will begin the season on the MLB-level disabled list for their respective teams. If you believe we have missed one, let us know in the comments.

Arizona Diamondbacks

OF Steven Souza Jr.

SP Silvino Bracho

SP Taijuan Walker

RP T.J. McFarland

Atlanta Braves 

SP Mike Foltynewicz

SP Kevin Gausman

RP A.J. Minter

RP Darren O’Day

Baltimore Orioles 

C Austin Wynns

1B/DH Mark Trumbo

SP Alex Cobb

Boston Red Sox 

1B/OF Steve Pearce

2B Dustin Pedroia

INF Marco Hernandez

Chicago Cubs 

SP Kendall Graveman

RP Brandon Morrow

RP Tony Barnette

RP Xavier Cedeno

Chicago White Sox 

OF Jon Jay

SP Michael Kopech

RP Ian Hamilton

Cincinnati Reds

2B Scooter Gennett

INF Alex Blandino

SP Alex Wood

Cleveland Indians 

SS Francisco Lindor

2B Jason Kipnis

OF Bradley Zimmer

SP Danny Salazar

Colorado Rockies 

SP Antonio Senzatela

RP Chris Rusin

Detroit Tigers

OF JaCoby Jones

SP Michael Fulmer

RP Drew VerHagen

* SP Gregory Soto will serve a 20-game suspension and be eligible to return once the suspension concludes.

Houston Astros 

SP Lance McCullers Jr.

RP Joe Smith

*SP Francis Martes will serve a 80-game suspension and be eligible to return once the suspension concludes.

Kansas City Royals

C Salvador Perez

SP Danny Duffy

SP Jesse Hahn

SP Trevor Oaks

RP Brian Flynn

*SP Eric Skoglund will serve a 80-game suspension and be eligible to return once the suspension concludes.

Los Angeles Angels

DH/SP Shohei Ohtani

OF Justin Upton

OF Michael Hermosillo

SP Andrew Heaney

SP J.C. Ramirez

SP Nick Tropeano

RP Keynan Middleton

RP Taylor Cole

Los Angeles Dodgers 

SP Clayton Kershaw

SP Rich Hill

RP Tony Cingrani

Miami Marlins

RP Julian Fernandez

RP Riley Ferrell

Milwaukee Brewers

SP Brent Suter

SP Jimmy Nelson

RP Bobby Wahl

RP Jeremy Jeffress

RP Corey Knebel

Minnesota Twins 

3B Miguel Sano

SP Matt Magill

RP Addison Reed

RP Gabriel Moya

New York Mets 

3B Todd Frazier

2B Jed Lowrie

OF Yoenis Cespedes

RP Drew Smith

New York Yankees 

SS Didi Gregorius

OF Jacoby Ellsbury

OF Aaron Hicks

*SP CC Sabathia is expected to serve a five-game suspension before being placed on the 10-day injured list.

Oakland Athletics 

C Chris Herrmann

1B Matt Olson

OF Nick Martini

SP Jharel Cotton

SP Daniel Gossett

SP Sean Manaea

Philadelphia Phillies 

OF/INF Roman Quinn

RP Tommy Hunter

Pittsburgh Pirates 

C Elias Diaz

OF Gregory Polanco

SP Chad Kuhl

SP Edgar Santana

St. Louis Cardinals 

INF Jedd Gyorko

OF Justin Williams

SP/RP Carlos Martinez

RP Brett Cecil

RP Luke Gregerson

San Diego Padres 

OF Travis Jankowski

SP Brett Kennedy

SP Garrett Richards

SP Jacob Nix

SP Dinelson Lamet

RP/SP Miguel Diaz

RP/SP Jose Castillo

San Francisco Giants 

SP Johnny Cueto

Seattle Mariners 

3B Kyle Seager

RP Anthony Swarzak

RP Shawn Armstrong

RP Sam Tuivailala

RP Gerson Bautista

Tampa Bay Rays 

3B Matt Duffy

SP Anthony Banda

SP Jose De Leon

Texas Rangers

OF Scott Heineman

SP Yohander Mendez

Toronto Blue Jays

INF Devon Travis

OF Dalton Pompey

SP Ryan Borucki

RP David Phelps

RP Ryan Tepera

Washington Nationals

INF/OF Howie Kendrick

OF Michael Taylor

RP Koda Glover

Finalized 25-man Opening Day rosters are due to MLB on Thursday morning.

Photo: Harry How/Getty Images

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: