Who Should Win Big Ten Player of the Year?

The Big Ten player of the year award candidates feature the best players in the Big Ten, and some of the best players in college basketball. The three main candidates are: Frank Kaminsky, Wisconsin, D’Angelo Russell, Ohio State, and Yogi Ferrell, Indiana. All three make a great case of being named Big Ten player of the year, but which one should win the award? We break down the chance for all 3 players down below.

Frank Kaminsky


Frank Kaminsky is Wisconsin’s star player. As Wisconsin’s center, Kaminsky is averaging 17.6 points, 8.4 rebounds, 2.5 assists and 1.6 blocks per game. Kaminsky missed Wisconsin’s game versus Rutgers, which the Badgers were upset in, and the Badgers lost the game in large part due to his presence not being there. Wisconsin is currently 24-2, which is the best start in school history, as Kaminsky has lead them to that stat, and is the current front runner for the award.

D’Angelo Russell


D’Angelo Russell is Ohio State’s star player. A combo guard that can do it all.  Russell currently averages 19.1 points, 5.8 rebounds, and 5.5 assists per game, leading Ohio State to 19-7 record. He may get favored on the award due to the fact he has more balanced stats and the fact that he doesn’t have the help around him that Frank Kaminsky has, but Russell will still end being a higher draft pick if he does go pro this season.

Yogi Ferrell 

Getty Images
Getty Images

Yogi Ferrell is similar to D’Angelo Russell and Frank Kaminsky when being the best player on their respective team comes into play. He is similar to D’Angelo Russell when being a combo guard comes into the conversation. Ferrell is currently averaging 16 points, 3.3 rebounds, and 5 assists per game, leading Indiana to a 18-8 record. While he has been impressive this year, I don’t see him winning the award.

My project winner: Frank Kaminsky 

Getty Images
Getty Images

Kaminsky is just too good, and with Wisconsin having the record advantage and being the best team in the Big Ten, Kaminsky should and will more than likely win the award.

  1. Frank Kaminsky
  2. D’Angelo Russell
  3. Yogi Ferrell

Regardless of who wins the award, all players are more then deserving of the award.

Like The Game Day Report on Facebook

[twitter-follow screen_name=’TheGD_Report’ show_count=’yes’]


Published by Tony Montalto

Twitter: @montalto_tony

%d bloggers like this: